Merle Haggard: Learning To Live With Myself

I couldn’t give a damn how much money the National Endowment For The Arts pissed away on crucifixes dunked in urine or poo-stained American flags; they knocked one clean out the park with PBS’ American Masters’ Merle Haggard: Learning To Live With Myself. It’s a surprisingly intimate and poignant portrait of a living legend and a national treasure. This documentary rings as true as one of Merle’s songs, and I don’t think there’s a greater compliment I or anybody else can give. I’ve seen the man in person, sung his songs, read his story, and I thought I knew the man, but I didn’t, ’til now. Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

